Castlemartyr progress to round 3

Castlemartyr got the intermediate hurling campaign back on track on Saturday last thanks to an excellent team performance that saw them edge out Grenagh in wonderful hurling conditions in Mayfield last Saturday night.

The Reds started well with Cian Haines and Jamie Stack finding the net early on, to lead 2-4 to 0-3 at the 10-minute mark. However, Grenagh grew into the game and goaled from a free to leave the half time score line at 2-08 to 1-7. This was despite Castlemartyr playing the opening half with a strong breeze at their backs.

Grenagh again took up the pace at the beginning of the second half and kept the scoreboard ticking over so that after 35 minutes there was just a point separating the teams. But Castlemartyrs purple patch was to be the turning point. The hard-working Liam Martin raised a green flag and was involved again with Mike Kelly to set up Cian Haines for his second of the night. Over the next 5 minutes Castlemartyr scored 2-05 without reply. Sturdy defence led by Adrian Bowens and Mike Cosgrave meant that Grenagh relied on placed balls to keep the scoreboard ticking over as the game became more attritional around the middle of the park. Brian Lawton pointed again and when Seanie Hennessey and Colin Bowens came on to wrap up the scoring with 2 great points from play, Castlemartyr were well assured of their place in the draw for the third round on a final score line of 4-16 to 1-17.

Management will be pleased with an all-round solid team performance with the defence well on top throughout. Best for the reds on the night were Brian Lawton who ended with a personal haul of 11 points and Liam Martin who showed plenty of energy around the field. They now await the draw for the third round.

Team: Jimmy Smiddy, Cathal Martin, Eoin Ronayne, Ollie Smiddy, James Lawton, Adrian Bowens, Mike Cosgrave, Brian Lawton (0-11 6f), Barra O’Tuama, Jamie Stack(1-1), Liam Martin(1-0), Ciaran Newlands, Mike Kelly (0-2), Cian Haines (2-0), Declan Kelly.

Subs: Rob O Donovan, Colm Beausang, Seanie Hennessey (0-1), Colin Bowens (0-1)